Medicinal Sweets or I Wish I Had a Sore Throat

March 12, 2012

Medicinal Sweets or I Wish I Had a Sore Throat

Awhile back I shared a post about Candied Tangerines and how delicious they are in the bottom of a cup of tea. But I wanted to make something a bit more medicinal that still had that ‘yummy’ quality to it. I’ve been fascinated by herbal anything my whole life. Imagine! The created things on this planet combat disease and infection, promote healing and life and can manage to do it in a gentle, easily accessible way. It’s such a perfect system!

Everyone knows that when you have a sore throat, you are supposed to have hot water, lemon and honey. Why? Well the hot water soothes and reduces swelling, while breaking up any lingering congestion in your throat. The lemon will cut through mucus (because of the acidity), kill bacteria, and also help numb tender, sore spots. The honey coats your throat and sweetens up all that acid that’s working in the lemon. Honey has been recognized by every culture as having a multitude of healing properties and modern medicine is even starting to research this natural wonder for its curative powers. It is important that you use RAW HONEY, pasteurized honey cannot claim the same health benefits. Come to find out, the Koreans make a medicinal “marmalade” with just fresh lemon and honey. I just had to try this.

I cut up 2 lemons, dropped them in a small mason jar and poured honey over them until it filled up about 1/3 of the jar. You can immediately see the juice from the lemon being drawn out by the honey and the two swirling together. I just made mine, but if I let it sit in the fridge, over the next couple of months the lemon will darken and the mixture will thicken. The peels and pulp will break down as well and leave behind a golden, lumpy marmalade that I can scoop into a cup and poor piping hot water over. Oh, it almost makes me want a sore throat! (To speed up the process, you can also store this in a cool cupboard rather than the fridge.)

Because I enjoy getting the most out of what I make, and I know that there are other medicinal jujus that can help me with a sore throat, I’m going to add a heaping Tablespoon of fresh chopped ginger and let that candy along with the lemon. When the hot water hits that, I can breathe in the steam and get some benefit in my sinuses as the ginger stimulates circulation and will allow me to breathe easier, while at the same time, be soothing to my stomach, which will also be a bit stressed if I’m sick.

I’m excited to try this and I’ll be taking some finished product pictures as well to share with you.

After I published this article, I ran across this article on the medicinal powers of honey.








Leave a Reply

